You can track time against contacts or work in Intuit Practice Management powered by Karbon by integrating your account with Quickbooks Time. This guide will walk you through the steps to connect your Quickbooks Time account to Intuit Practice Managment and begin tracking time.

Before you get started

If you are an existing Quickbooks Time user, you must take the time to ensure that your contact names in Intuit Practice Management match any codes in Quickbooks Time before you connect the two apps.

This is a critical step—any Intuit Practice Managment contacts that don’t match a Quickbooks Time code will be created as a new code in Quickbooks Time.

To avoid creating duplicates, we recommend exporting your codes from Quickbooks Time and comparing them with your Intuit Practice Management contacts. Take the time to ensure your client names in Quickbooks Time match your contact names in Intuit Practice Management.

Once you've checked your contacts, you will then need to ensure that your Time & Budgets feature is turned on within Intuit Practice Management. This feature allows you to set estimates, track time, manage capacity, analyze performance.

Connecting your accounts

Step 1. Connect to Quickbooks Time

From Settings, choose Connected apps. You'll then be able to connect with Quickbooks Time.

You'll be given the option to connect an existing account, or if you don’t have a Quickbooks Time account, you’ll also be able to create one with a 14-day free trial.

Step 2. Choose what to sync

Once you have connected your Quickbooks Time account you will be able to set up your integration settings.

You can choose to track time against each contact, or both contacts and work items.

Note: Choosing to sync your work will create codes in Quickbooks Time for all of your work items. So, if you will only be tracking time against clients, keep things clean by only selecting to sync your contacts.

You then select what contact types you will track time against. For example, if you don't need to track time against Suppliers, you can leave that contact type unchecked.

Once you click Save & Sync, the data you have chosen will be synced with Quickbooks Time. You can now begin to track time from either Intuit Practice Management or your Quickbooks Time dashboard.

Step 3. Turn on Custom Fields in Quickbooks Time

Your final step before using Quickbooks Time in your account will be to turn on your custom fields within Quickbooks Time in order to sync over your Task Types and Roles, which are necessary when creating time.

Entering time in Intuit Practice Managment

There are three places you can add time in your account:

Add time from a work item

Once connected to Quickbooks Time, you will notice tab in each work item: Time & Budgets. From here, you can choose Add Time Entry.

You will then be able to enter time for the work item, the role, task type, date, and duration, as we as any notes. Specifying the Role and Task Type is important because they ensure the right dollar amount is associated with the time entry that is made.

Add time from a contact

Your contacts will also have a Time & Budgets tab. From here, you can choose Add Time Entry.

Add a time entry from global add

From your global add icon (+) in the top right, select Time Entry. You'll then have the option to add time against a contact or work item that you search for.

When adding time from this option, you will not be able to locate the 'None' contact. You must search for and use another contact to add time against.

If you wish to add time against the 'none' contact, you will need to add time directly on that contact, or on one of their work items.

Viewing tracked time in Intuit Practice Management

You will be able to view any time that has been tracked and entered on the Time & Budgets tab of the contact or work item. This includes the time that has been entered in both your account and Quickbooks Time, and will also outline which team member has tracked what time.

In Intuit Practice Management, you will see the last six months of time that has been entered.

Entering time in Quickbooks Time

In your Quickbooks Time account, you can enter time in Time Entries by selecting the codes to record time for. This time that you record will then be visible in Intuit Practice Managment on the corresponding contact and/or work item.

Note: If you sent to Quickbooks Time both clients and work, then you can only record time against work items, not clients in Quickbooks Time. However, you can add time for both in your account to see the results in your Quickbooks Time reporting.

Viewing tracked time in Quickbooks Time

You can also view time entries in Quickbooks Time, which have been entered against contacts or work items in either app. From your Quickbooks Time dashboard, select Time Entries.

Highlights to consider:

  • If you sync both contacts & work, but decide to only track time against contacts and want to remove the work codes from Quickbooks Time, you will have to do this manually. Therefore we recommend you only sync what you need.
  • When syncing both contacts & work, once you track time on a specific work item for a contact, you will no longer be able to track time at the contact only level for that specific contact.
  • If you change a contact or work name in your account, the Quickbooks Time code will also be updated.
  • On the other side, if you update a name in Quickbooks Time, it does not come back into Intuit Practice Management. While the names will now differ, they will remain in sync in regards to time.
  • All your time data is stored in Quickbooks Time, and Intuit Practice Management only brings in the last six months of time. This is something we are seeking feedback on, so if you'd prefer earlier time to be brought into your account, please let us know.
  • All new contacts and work added into Intuit Practice Management will automatically go to Quickbooks Time (if you have chosen that item type to link to Quickbooks Time). However, any new contacts added into Quickbooks Time will not be automatically updated to your account.
  • If you change a contact for work in your account, the Quickbooks Time code will remain linked, but you will need to move the work to the new client inside Quickbooks Time. If you don't do this, Quickbooks Time will report under the old client.
  • Time recorded on work items does not track up to the client level. You record time on the contact or work item, and they are separate totals.

Further Quickbooks Time help content:


Did this answer your question?