By default, your contacts and work items are public to all your colleagues. However, if you have any sensitive contacts or organizations, you can make them and their associated work items private or hidden.
Any contact can be made private, which means that only members of the client team will have access.
The privacy of a work item is controlled by the contact—if the contact is private, then all that contact's work will also be private, and only members of the client team and work team will have access.
Public (default): everyone in the company can view information about the client or work item.
Private: everyone can view the client name or work title, but only teams with access can view the details.
Hidden: only the teams with access to that client know the information exists. Search results won’t display hidden contacts and their work except for those with access.
Editing the privacy settings for a contact
In the details tab of a contact or organization, you will have the option to edit privacy.
From there, you can choose who can access to the contact's details, work, and communications, and what level of privacy the contact will have.
By adding colleagues to client teams you can grant access to selected people in your firm. You can do this in different ways.
If you make a contact private, you are automatically added to the client team.
Assigning a task, email or @mentioning a colleague in a note that is linked to a work item automatically adds them to the work team. They will be able to view the work item but not the contacts details.
You can’t assign an email, task or note to yourself in order to grant yourself access to a restricted contact, organization, or work item.
Email participants (sender, to, cc, bcc) have access to that specific email, but not the work item.